Is it possible?

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » General MMA Talk » Is it possible?
warglory
3/19/07 4:29:42PM
Is it possible that there is a single martial art or a single individul who practices a single martial art that could hold up well against a mixed martial artist? I love MMA and its various techniques, but I can't deny how unbelievably cool it would be to see some 60 year old grand master come out of some little Chinese village and just dismantle Fedor or Cro Cop.

This is obviously very Hollywood-ish in nature, and probably unlikely, but has anyone else ever considered that there is an individual with one discipline, or some underground art that could still hold their/its own against well rounded fighters?
AchillesHeel
3/19/07 4:59:08PM
I've always wondered about aikido. I studied it for about ten seconds awhile back, and it seems fairly well-suited to repelling striking and grappling attacks.

I imagine an elite aikido practitioner would have excellent chokes and throws, similar to judo (a la Karo Parisyan). There's no sprawl in aikido, but their takedown defense would be pretty good, just from footwork and balance (a la BJ Penn). And it's a circular, reactive style, so they'd have the whole Bruce Lee "be like water" thing in spades.

It would have a couple of big drawbacks, though. It uses a lot of small-joint manipulation and soft-target strikes, both of which are illegal in MMA. It doesn't emphasize power striking or arm and leg manipulation (at least, not as much as BJJ does), and an aikido practitioner wouldn't have the chin that people in other disciplines have (at least, not from practice, anybody can just be naturally tough). It also doesn't emphasize conditioning and strength much, the way boxing, wrestling and muay thai do.
Svartorm
3/19/07 11:38:32PM
That depends on if we're talking MMA or legit fighting.