need help!

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » need help!
derekcalado
11/21/07 11:24:02PM
i am 169lbs i have to make it to the mid 150's by early January. im cutting weight to fight a kid who is 145ish and is extremely athletic. ive been training for MMA for 3 months and have a year of boxing under my belt. his striking is not that great, and he is quik on the ground. i need a game plan. my plan was to ground and pound. i also need a diet plan as well.
bayonetxwork
11/21/07 11:32:30PM

Posted by derekcalado

i am 169lbs i have to make it to the mid 150's by early January. im cutting weight to fight a kid who is 145ish and is extremely athletic. ive been training for MMA for 3 months and have a year of boxing under my belt. his striking is not that great, and he is quik on the ground. i need a game plan. my plan was to ground and pound. i also need a diet plan as well.

Well what weight exactly are you fighting at? Honestly you could cut to 160lbs pretty easy, just by doing cardio, and cutting out the obvious flaws in your current diet without anything to specific.

BTW, you have a fight already and you've only been training for 3 months?
jiujitsufreak74
11/21/07 11:42:06PM
as far as gameplan goes, since you have only 3 months of mma experience, i suggest avoiding the ground a bit if your background is boxing. i don't know if you have ever done wrestling and i have to assume that the guy your fighting knows JJ (if he knows some JJ don't go to the ground b/c you lack the experience) so i suggest do your best to keep it standing and use your boxing as much as possible. i would work on a good sprawl and go for power punches if he is a speedier guy because you should be a lot bigger and stronger than him judging by the weight your cutting. with this tid bit of info you gave me, thats what advice i can give you.
Svartorm
11/22/07 12:31:59AM