Sign In


Keep me logged in

Ricardo Arona

Ricardo Arona was born on July 17th, 1978 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. After competing for several years in both the PRIDE and RINGS professional fighting organizations, Arona is well-known for both his strength and his apparent inability to end fights. While receiving much criticism for this fact, Arona continues to defeat opponents by decision more often than not.

Arona began his professional fighting career by participating in the Abu Dhabi Combat Club submission wrestling series of contents where he won and continued to hold several titles for many years, the only fighter in that organization to retire with a title and remain undefeated.

From Abu Dhabi Aroni signed a contract with the RINGS fighting organization in Japan. Arona won his first several fights before suffering a loss against eventual heavyweight champion Fedor Emelianenko. Arona bounced back from the loss well, winning his next three professional fights with RINGS.

After proving his ability over and over again, Arona was finally noticed by the management of the larger PRIDE fighting league and was offered a multi-fight contract. Arona won his first three fights handily, defeating Guy Mezger, Dan Henderson and noted PRIDE fighter Murilo Ninja. Arona’s fourth battle with PRIDE was scheduled against Quinton Jackson. After being knocked out cold due to a massive body slam from Jackson, Arona publically declared that he had been hit in the head with an illegal knee and that the fight should not count against his record. A dispute over this fight kept Arona out of the ring for the following four months. PRIDE still holds the fight to his record.

The four months off seemed to give Arona a fresh wind and he returned to defeat his first three opponents. This impressive run prompted PRIDE management to give Arona a spot in the upcoming Middleweight Grand Prix. Dean Lister, Arona’s first opponent, fell to a unanimous decision and Arona went on the defeat famous Japanese martial artist Kazushi Sakuraba with a TKO by doctor stoppage. Although Arona was able to beat his semi-final opponent Wanderlei Silva by decision, he was easily defeated in the finals by veteran fighter Mauricio ‘Shogun’ Rua with a first round knockout.

A rematch between Arona and his Grand Prix rival Wanderlei Silva was scheduled for December 31st, 2005. Arona lost a long and grueling match due to a highly-debated split decision. Arona moved on to face Alistair Overeem in September of 2006, brutally forcing him to submit after raining blows on him from the ground.

Despite his impressive performances, Arona still seemed to lack the humility necessary to admit the odd defeat. After losing by knockout to Rameau Thierry Sokoudjou at the PRIDE 34 event, Arona claimed he lost only because he was suffering from dengue fever at the time.

All articles...

Aleksander Emelianenko

Anderson Silva

Andrei Arlovski - "The Pitbull"

Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira - "Minotauro"

B.J. Penn

Brad Blackburn - Bad

Brandon Vera

Bryan Vetell

Chris Lytle - Lights Out

Chuck Liddell

Dan Christison - The Sandman

Dan Henderson

David Tank Abbott

Denis Kang

Diego Sanchez

Don Frye - The Predator

Ed Herman - Short Fuse

Eric Esch - Butterbean

Ernesto Hoost - Mr. Perfect

Fedor Emelianenko

Forrest Griffin

Frank Shamrock

Gabriel Gonzaga - "Napao"

George St. Pierre - "Rush"

Gilbert Yvel - The Hurricane

Hayato Sakurai

Heath Herring - The Texas Crazy Horse

Hermes Franca

Ian Freeman - The Machine

Igor Vovchanchyn - Ice Cold

Jason MacDonald - The Athlete

Jason Von Flue - Live Wire

Jeff Joslin - The Inferno

Jeremy Horn - Gumby

Joachim Hansen - Hell Boy

Joey Villasenor

Jon Fitch

Josh Barnett - "The Babyface Assassin"

Josh Burkman - "The People's Warrior"

Josh Koscheck

Karo Parisyan

Keith Jardine - The Dean of Mean

Kendall Grove

Kenny Florian - KenFlo

Lyoto Machida

Mac Danzig

Marcus Aurelio - Maximus

Mark Coleman - The Hammer

Mark Hunt

Mark Weir - The Wizard

Marvin Eastman - The Beastman

Matt Hamill - The Hammer

Matt Hughes

Matt Lindland

Matt Serra

Mauricio Rua - "Shogun"

Michael Bisping

Mike Swick - "Quick"

Mirko Filipovic - "Cro Cop"

Nam Phan

Nick Diaz - "Diablo"

Patrick Cote - The Predator

Paul Buentello - The Headhunter

Peter Aerts - The Dutch Lumberjack

Phil Baroni - The New York Bad Ass

Quinton Jackson - "Rampage"

Randy Couture - "The Natural"

Rashad Evans - "Sugar"

Renzo Gracie

Ricardo Arona

Rich Franklin

Richard Clementi - No Love

Roman Zentsov - The Russian Hammer

Sam Hoger - The Alaskan Assassin

Sean Sherk - "The Muscle Shark"

Shinya Aoki

Shonie Carter - Mr. International

Spencer Fisher - The King

Takanori Gomi

The UFC will take all the action to Netherlands

Tim Sylvia - "The Maine-iac"

Travis Lutter - The Serial Killer

Urijah Faber - California Kid

When will we ever see a male vs female MMA fight

Yoshihiro Akiyama

Yves Edwards