Sign In


Keep me logged in

Matt Hamill - The Hammer

The only deaf person to become a professional mixed martial arts fighter, Matt “The Hammer” Hamill was born on October 5th, 1976 in Cincinnati, Ohio. A serious wrestler in college, Hamill was a three-time NCAA Division III National Champion while studying at Rochester Institute of Technology.

After turning his wrestling skills and lose martial arts training to amateur matches following college, Hamill was invited to contend on the third season of Spike TV’s The Ultimate Fighter reality show. He trained under Tito Ortiz and won his original match against Mike Nickels with a decision before dropping out of the competition due to multiple injuries. Hamill did return for the show finale, defeating Jesse Forbes by TKO in an impressive victory.

Hamill’s next appearance came on the UFC’s Ortiz vs. Shamrock 3: The Final Chapter on October 10th, 2006. “The Hammer” defeated The Ultimate Fighter 2’s Seth Petruzelli with a unanimous decision. A fight against Rex Holman followed at UFC 68: The Uprising; Hamill won handily with a first round TKO. UFC management quickly decided to pit Hamill against a tougher opponent, and a bout with Michael Bisping was scheduled immediately for UFC 75. Hamill mentioned in an interview that he would like to train for and take part in the 2008 Summer Olympics while he awaited his next professional battle.

All articles...

Aleksander Emelianenko

Anderson Silva

Andrei Arlovski - "The Pitbull"

Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira - "Minotauro"

B.J. Penn

Brad Blackburn - Bad

Brandon Vera

Bryan Vetell

Chris Lytle - Lights Out

Chuck Liddell

Dan Christison - The Sandman

Dan Henderson

David Tank Abbott

Denis Kang

Diego Sanchez

Don Frye - The Predator

Ed Herman - Short Fuse

Eric Esch - Butterbean

Ernesto Hoost - Mr. Perfect

Fedor Emelianenko

Forrest Griffin

Frank Shamrock

Gabriel Gonzaga - "Napao"

George St. Pierre - "Rush"

Gilbert Yvel - The Hurricane

Hayato Sakurai

Heath Herring - The Texas Crazy Horse

Hermes Franca

Ian Freeman - The Machine

Igor Vovchanchyn - Ice Cold

Jason MacDonald - The Athlete

Jason Von Flue - Live Wire

Jeff Joslin - The Inferno

Jeremy Horn - Gumby

Joachim Hansen - Hell Boy

Joey Villasenor

Jon Fitch

Josh Barnett - "The Babyface Assassin"

Josh Burkman - "The People's Warrior"

Josh Koscheck

Karo Parisyan

Keith Jardine - The Dean of Mean

Kendall Grove

Kenny Florian - KenFlo

Lyoto Machida

Mac Danzig

Marcus Aurelio - Maximus

Mark Coleman - The Hammer

Mark Hunt

Mark Weir - The Wizard

Marvin Eastman - The Beastman

Matt Hamill - The Hammer

Matt Hughes

Matt Lindland

Matt Serra

Mauricio Rua - "Shogun"

Michael Bisping

Mike Swick - "Quick"

Mirko Filipovic - "Cro Cop"

Nam Phan

Nick Diaz - "Diablo"

Patrick Cote - The Predator

Paul Buentello - The Headhunter

Peter Aerts - The Dutch Lumberjack

Phil Baroni - The New York Bad Ass

Quinton Jackson - "Rampage"

Randy Couture - "The Natural"

Rashad Evans - "Sugar"

Renzo Gracie

Ricardo Arona

Rich Franklin

Richard Clementi - No Love

Roman Zentsov - The Russian Hammer

Sam Hoger - The Alaskan Assassin

Sean Sherk - "The Muscle Shark"

Shinya Aoki

Shonie Carter - Mr. International

Spencer Fisher - The King

Takanori Gomi

The UFC will take all the action to Netherlands

Tim Sylvia - "The Maine-iac"

Travis Lutter - The Serial Killer

Urijah Faber - California Kid

When will we ever see a male vs female MMA fight

Yoshihiro Akiyama

Yves Edwards