Sign In


Keep me logged in

Mark Hunt

Mark Hunt was born on March 23rd, 1974 in Auckland, New Zealand. After a street fight that saw Hunt handily take care of several attackers, bouncers at a nearby club immediately began trying to convince him to begin formal training. That was all the push that Hunt needed.

Hunt made his professional debut in the K-1 kickboxing league, winning the 2000 Oceania qualifying tournament in the process. He was immediately invited to fight to go to Japan to compete for a chance to join the K-1 World Grand Prix tournament. After losing his first fight to tough French fighter Jerome Le Banner by decision, Hunt was eliminated from contention.

The tough Samoan returned the following year to compete in the 2001 Oceania tournament, winning the event a second time, but not without a fight. After winning his first match against Japanese boxer Hiromi Amada, Hunt was defeated by reigning champion Ernesto Hoost. Instead of going home, Hunt was given a coveted wildcard spot and allowed to fight for a reentry into the contest. He lost again, this time to fellow New Zealander Ray Sefo, but was allowed to progress after Sefo was forced to drop out due to an eye injury. Hunt pulled off a TKO win over Australian boxer Adam Watt and earned his place in the semi-finals.

With the semi-final round opponents being decided by the finalists themselves, Hunt surprised everyone by announcing that he would take on highly rated fighter Jerome Le Banner in a rematch and title bout. Hunt pulled off an amazing TKO in the second round to formally advance to the final round against Ernesto Hoost, though Hoost was later replaced by German fighter Stephan Leko due to an injury. After a strong fight that saw Leko knocked down several times, Hunt won the bout and the title with a unanimous decision, becoming the 2001 K-1 World Grand Prix Champion.

Hunt suffered several losses throughout 2002. At the Nagoya Grand Prix event he was out-pointed in a decision loss to Croation kickboxer Mirko Filipovic and he quickly traveled to Paris for a third match against Jerome Le Banner. Although a highly exciting match, Hunt was forced to verbally submit between rounds after being injured in a knockdown suffered at the hands of Le Banner.

Hunt returned the following year to defend his Grand Prix title. After beating highly ranked South African fighter Mike Bernardo by unanimous decision, Hunt moved on to battle Stephan Leko for the second time. Leko seemed eager to avenge his earlier loss and dominated the fight until the third round when Hunt landed a very strong right cross to knock Leko out and win the fight. Hunt’s semi-final round pitted him against Jerome Le Banner for the fourth time in two years. Although Hunt was able to knock the French fighter down several times he would still go on to lose the fight by unanimous decision.

Following the Grand Prix loss, Hunt moved onto fighting with the PRIDE while training in Sydney, Australia. After compiling a fairly even record of wins and losses, Hunt was given a spot to compete in the PRIDE Shockwave 2006 event. After making it to the finals Hunt ultimately lost to PRIDE heavyweight champion Fedor Emelianenko by a submission due to a kimura.

All articles...

Aleksander Emelianenko

Anderson Silva

Andrei Arlovski - "The Pitbull"

Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira - "Minotauro"

B.J. Penn

Brad Blackburn - Bad

Brandon Vera

Bryan Vetell

Chris Lytle - Lights Out

Chuck Liddell

Dan Christison - The Sandman

Dan Henderson

David Tank Abbott

Denis Kang

Diego Sanchez

Don Frye - The Predator

Ed Herman - Short Fuse

Eric Esch - Butterbean

Ernesto Hoost - Mr. Perfect

Fedor Emelianenko

Forrest Griffin

Frank Shamrock

Gabriel Gonzaga - "Napao"

George St. Pierre - "Rush"

Gilbert Yvel - The Hurricane

Hayato Sakurai

Heath Herring - The Texas Crazy Horse

Hermes Franca

Ian Freeman - The Machine

Igor Vovchanchyn - Ice Cold

Jason MacDonald - The Athlete

Jason Von Flue - Live Wire

Jeff Joslin - The Inferno

Jeremy Horn - Gumby

Joachim Hansen - Hell Boy

Joey Villasenor

Jon Fitch

Josh Barnett - "The Babyface Assassin"

Josh Burkman - "The People's Warrior"

Josh Koscheck

Karo Parisyan

Keith Jardine - The Dean of Mean

Kendall Grove

Kenny Florian - KenFlo

Lyoto Machida

Mac Danzig

Marcus Aurelio - Maximus

Mark Coleman - The Hammer

Mark Hunt

Mark Weir - The Wizard

Marvin Eastman - The Beastman

Matt Hamill - The Hammer

Matt Hughes

Matt Lindland

Matt Serra

Mauricio Rua - "Shogun"

Michael Bisping

Mike Swick - "Quick"

Mirko Filipovic - "Cro Cop"

Nam Phan

Nick Diaz - "Diablo"

Patrick Cote - The Predator

Paul Buentello - The Headhunter

Peter Aerts - The Dutch Lumberjack

Phil Baroni - The New York Bad Ass

Quinton Jackson - "Rampage"

Randy Couture - "The Natural"

Rashad Evans - "Sugar"

Renzo Gracie

Ricardo Arona

Rich Franklin

Richard Clementi - No Love

Roman Zentsov - The Russian Hammer

Sam Hoger - The Alaskan Assassin

Sean Sherk - "The Muscle Shark"

Shinya Aoki

Shonie Carter - Mr. International

Spencer Fisher - The King

Takanori Gomi

The UFC will take all the action to Netherlands

Tim Sylvia - "The Maine-iac"

Travis Lutter - The Serial Killer

Urijah Faber - California Kid

When will we ever see a male vs female MMA fight

Yoshihiro Akiyama

Yves Edwards