Sign In


Keep me logged in

Joachim Hansen - Hell Boy

The first Scandinavian fighter to have won and held a world title in MMA, Joachim “Hell Boy” Hansen is well-known for his dominance in the sport of Shooto. With moves typical of professional lightweight fighters, Hansen is well-loved by fans for his intense ground game, incredible leg kicks and lightning-fast knee strikes.

Born on May 26th, 1979 in Oslo, Norway, “Hell Boy” began his training in various martial arts at a young age. After competing at amateur events throughout his teenage years Hansen began serious training and competition in Shooto competitions. An impressive win over Takanori Gomi saw the Shooto world welterweight championship belt passed to Hansen; his win marked the first loss ever for Gomi. Hansen continued to dish out impressive wins, defeating fighters such as Yves Edwards and Caol Uno. In his final Shooto match before moving on to American promotions Hansen defeated Rumina Sato. As he celebrated his victory he launched his mouthpiece into the crowd and accidently striking Caol Uno’s mother in the face.

After catching the eye of scouts with the PRIDE Fighting Championship promotion, Hansen faced off with Shinya Aoki at PRIDE Shockwave 2006, losing a decision after an impressive fight on the part of both fighters. Hansen’s return at PRIDE 33 saw him handily defeat Jason Ireland.

All articles...

Aleksander Emelianenko

Anderson Silva

Andrei Arlovski - "The Pitbull"

Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira - "Minotauro"

B.J. Penn

Brad Blackburn - Bad

Brandon Vera

Bryan Vetell

Chris Lytle - Lights Out

Chuck Liddell

Dan Christison - The Sandman

Dan Henderson

David Tank Abbott

Denis Kang

Diego Sanchez

Don Frye - The Predator

Ed Herman - Short Fuse

Eric Esch - Butterbean

Ernesto Hoost - Mr. Perfect

Fedor Emelianenko

Forrest Griffin

Frank Shamrock

Gabriel Gonzaga - "Napao"

George St. Pierre - "Rush"

Gilbert Yvel - The Hurricane

Hayato Sakurai

Heath Herring - The Texas Crazy Horse

Hermes Franca

Ian Freeman - The Machine

Igor Vovchanchyn - Ice Cold

Jason MacDonald - The Athlete

Jason Von Flue - Live Wire

Jeff Joslin - The Inferno

Jeremy Horn - Gumby

Joachim Hansen - Hell Boy

Joey Villasenor

Jon Fitch

Josh Barnett - "The Babyface Assassin"

Josh Burkman - "The People's Warrior"

Josh Koscheck

Karo Parisyan

Keith Jardine - The Dean of Mean

Kendall Grove

Kenny Florian - KenFlo

Lyoto Machida

Mac Danzig

Marcus Aurelio - Maximus

Mark Coleman - The Hammer

Mark Hunt

Mark Weir - The Wizard

Marvin Eastman - The Beastman

Matt Hamill - The Hammer

Matt Hughes

Matt Lindland

Matt Serra

Mauricio Rua - "Shogun"

Michael Bisping

Mike Swick - "Quick"

Mirko Filipovic - "Cro Cop"

Nam Phan

Nick Diaz - "Diablo"

Patrick Cote - The Predator

Paul Buentello - The Headhunter

Peter Aerts - The Dutch Lumberjack

Phil Baroni - The New York Bad Ass

Quinton Jackson - "Rampage"

Randy Couture - "The Natural"

Rashad Evans - "Sugar"

Renzo Gracie

Ricardo Arona

Rich Franklin

Richard Clementi - No Love

Roman Zentsov - The Russian Hammer

Sam Hoger - The Alaskan Assassin

Sean Sherk - "The Muscle Shark"

Shinya Aoki

Shonie Carter - Mr. International

Spencer Fisher - The King

Takanori Gomi

The UFC will take all the action to Netherlands

Tim Sylvia - "The Maine-iac"

Travis Lutter - The Serial Killer

Urijah Faber - California Kid

When will we ever see a male vs female MMA fight

Yoshihiro Akiyama

Yves Edwards