Sign In


Keep me logged in

Hermes Franca

Hermes Franca (born Hermes Franca-Barros) was born on August 26th, 1974 in Fortaleza, Brazil. After spending the majority of his early years training in various martial arts including Brazilian jiu jitsu, Franca was invited to take part in the Ultimate Fighting Championship’s next event, UFC 42.

Franca’s UFC debut saw him faced off against Richard Crunkilton and he proved his ability early by defeating Crunkilton with a strong unanimous decision. He was next slated to fight Carl Uno only a few short weeks after Uno narrowly missed taking B.J.
Penn’s lightweight title away after a controversial draw. Franca won the fight with a split decision and word began to spread that he would soon be a title contender.
Franca’s next two fights would prove less successful then his earlier UFC outings.

After losing a majority decision to Josh Thomson at UFC 46 he was defeated for the second time in a row at UFC 47: It’s On, this time to Yves Edwards by split decision. Two wins in non-UFC fights prepared Franca for his second attempt at Yves Edwards at the Euphoria: USA vs. World event, but yet another split decision lead to a second loss to Edwards.

After this shaky start to the year 2005 – Franca lost his first three matches – he returned in 2006 with much better results. After upsetting WEC champion Gabe Ruediger to take title away from him Franca continued to batter the competition, capturing the AFC lightweight championship from Team Quest combatant Ryan Schultz that April.

After continuing his hot streak with wins over Toby Imada and Brandon Olsen in non-UFC bouts, Franca signed a one-fight contract with the Ultimate Fighting Championship to take on Roger Huerta at UFC 61. Huerta pulled out at the last minute due to an injury and was quickly replaced with UFC newcomer Joe Jordan. Franca did not seem affected by the change as he forced Jordan to submit in the final round with a triangle choke, clinching a win in his return to the UFC.

Franca continued his dominance in the UFC with a subsequent win over Jamie Varner at UFC 62 after coming into the bout as a replacement for injured Spencer Fisher. Franca won the fight with an armbar submission and immediately focused on his upcoming bout with Nathan Diaz in the WEC league. Franca defeated Diaz, extended his winning streak and retaining his WEC lightweight championship title.

Well on his way to receiving a shot at the UFC welterweight title, Franca sealed the deal with a win over Spencer Fisher at UFC Fight Night 8 with a strong TKO in the second round. He immediately asked UFC CEO Dana White for an opportunity to fight Sean Sherk for the title and was granted his request with a bout scheduled for UFC 73. The fight went a full five rounds and saw Sherk retain his title with a win by unanimous decision.

UFC officials announced immediately after the fight that both Franca and Sherk has tested positive for illegal substances in their post-fight drug test. Franca was suspended for from competing professionally in California until July of 2008 and fined $2500.

All articles...

Aleksander Emelianenko

Anderson Silva

Andrei Arlovski - "The Pitbull"

Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira - "Minotauro"

B.J. Penn

Brad Blackburn - Bad

Brandon Vera

Bryan Vetell

Chris Lytle - Lights Out

Chuck Liddell

Dan Christison - The Sandman

Dan Henderson

David Tank Abbott

Denis Kang

Diego Sanchez

Don Frye - The Predator

Ed Herman - Short Fuse

Eric Esch - Butterbean

Ernesto Hoost - Mr. Perfect

Fedor Emelianenko

Forrest Griffin

Frank Shamrock

Gabriel Gonzaga - "Napao"

George St. Pierre - "Rush"

Gilbert Yvel - The Hurricane

Hayato Sakurai

Heath Herring - The Texas Crazy Horse

Hermes Franca

Ian Freeman - The Machine

Igor Vovchanchyn - Ice Cold

Jason MacDonald - The Athlete

Jason Von Flue - Live Wire

Jeff Joslin - The Inferno

Jeremy Horn - Gumby

Joachim Hansen - Hell Boy

Joey Villasenor

Jon Fitch

Josh Barnett - "The Babyface Assassin"

Josh Burkman - "The People's Warrior"

Josh Koscheck

Karo Parisyan

Keith Jardine - The Dean of Mean

Kendall Grove

Kenny Florian - KenFlo

Lyoto Machida

Mac Danzig

Marcus Aurelio - Maximus

Mark Coleman - The Hammer

Mark Hunt

Mark Weir - The Wizard

Marvin Eastman - The Beastman

Matt Hamill - The Hammer

Matt Hughes

Matt Lindland

Matt Serra

Mauricio Rua - "Shogun"

Michael Bisping

Mike Swick - "Quick"

Mirko Filipovic - "Cro Cop"

Nam Phan

Nick Diaz - "Diablo"

Patrick Cote - The Predator

Paul Buentello - The Headhunter

Peter Aerts - The Dutch Lumberjack

Phil Baroni - The New York Bad Ass

Quinton Jackson - "Rampage"

Randy Couture - "The Natural"

Rashad Evans - "Sugar"

Renzo Gracie

Ricardo Arona

Rich Franklin

Richard Clementi - No Love

Roman Zentsov - The Russian Hammer

Sam Hoger - The Alaskan Assassin

Sean Sherk - "The Muscle Shark"

Shinya Aoki

Shonie Carter - Mr. International

Spencer Fisher - The King

Takanori Gomi

The UFC will take all the action to Netherlands

Tim Sylvia - "The Maine-iac"

Travis Lutter - The Serial Killer

Urijah Faber - California Kid

When will we ever see a male vs female MMA fight

Yoshihiro Akiyama

Yves Edwards