Sign In


Keep me logged in

Ernesto Hoost - Mr. Perfect

One of the K-1 promotions original fighters, Ernesto “Mr. Perfect” Hoost was born on July 11th, 1965 in The Netherlands. After quickly making a name for himself at the K-1 World Grand Prix in 1993 by coming just one win short of the tournament title in his professional fighting debut, Hoost began a long-term career with the organization.

Although being knocked out by Branko Cikatic prevented Hoost from winning that debut tournament, he did go on to win the K-2 World Championship later that year by knocking out heavy favorite Changpuek Kiatsongrit in four rounds.

“Mr. Perfect” managed to reach the K-1 World Grand Prix final again in 1995 but suffered a tough four-round loss to Peter Aerts with a decision. After reaching the 1996 finals and losing again, this time to Andy Hug in another four round decision, Hoost finally captured the title in 1997 when he was able to even the score with Hug.

After being unable to defend his title in 1998 Hoost reclaimed it in 1999 and successively held the position until he lost a highly-anticipated match with Bob Sapp in 2002 after a referee stoppage due to cuts. An attempt later that year to redeem himself against Sapp saw Hoost knocked out in the second round.

All articles...

Aleksander Emelianenko

Anderson Silva

Andrei Arlovski - "The Pitbull"

Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira - "Minotauro"

B.J. Penn

Brad Blackburn - Bad

Brandon Vera

Bryan Vetell

Chris Lytle - Lights Out

Chuck Liddell

Dan Christison - The Sandman

Dan Henderson

David Tank Abbott

Denis Kang

Diego Sanchez

Don Frye - The Predator

Ed Herman - Short Fuse

Eric Esch - Butterbean

Ernesto Hoost - Mr. Perfect

Fedor Emelianenko

Forrest Griffin

Frank Shamrock

Gabriel Gonzaga - "Napao"

George St. Pierre - "Rush"

Gilbert Yvel - The Hurricane

Hayato Sakurai

Heath Herring - The Texas Crazy Horse

Hermes Franca

Ian Freeman - The Machine

Igor Vovchanchyn - Ice Cold

Jason MacDonald - The Athlete

Jason Von Flue - Live Wire

Jeff Joslin - The Inferno

Jeremy Horn - Gumby

Joachim Hansen - Hell Boy

Joey Villasenor

Jon Fitch

Josh Barnett - "The Babyface Assassin"

Josh Burkman - "The People's Warrior"

Josh Koscheck

Karo Parisyan

Keith Jardine - The Dean of Mean

Kendall Grove

Kenny Florian - KenFlo

Lyoto Machida

Mac Danzig

Marcus Aurelio - Maximus

Mark Coleman - The Hammer

Mark Hunt

Mark Weir - The Wizard

Marvin Eastman - The Beastman

Matt Hamill - The Hammer

Matt Hughes

Matt Lindland

Matt Serra

Mauricio Rua - "Shogun"

Michael Bisping

Mike Swick - "Quick"

Mirko Filipovic - "Cro Cop"

Nam Phan

Nick Diaz - "Diablo"

Patrick Cote - The Predator

Paul Buentello - The Headhunter

Peter Aerts - The Dutch Lumberjack

Phil Baroni - The New York Bad Ass

Quinton Jackson - "Rampage"

Randy Couture - "The Natural"

Rashad Evans - "Sugar"

Renzo Gracie

Ricardo Arona

Rich Franklin

Richard Clementi - No Love

Roman Zentsov - The Russian Hammer

Sam Hoger - The Alaskan Assassin

Sean Sherk - "The Muscle Shark"

Shinya Aoki

Shonie Carter - Mr. International

Spencer Fisher - The King

Takanori Gomi

The UFC will take all the action to Netherlands

Tim Sylvia - "The Maine-iac"

Travis Lutter - The Serial Killer

Urijah Faber - California Kid

When will we ever see a male vs female MMA fight

Yoshihiro Akiyama

Yves Edwards