MMA Playground 4.0 is live!     Returning members: check out the patch notes     New members: visit our getting started guide, read the FAQ's and start playing!
Sign In


Keep me logged in

Eric Esch - Butterbean

Known by fans and MMA announcers predominantly as “Butterbean”, Eric Scott Esch is most well-known for his bald pate and heavy weight. At only 5’11”, Butterbean has consistently fought at about 395 pounds. Butterbean traditionally trained in his hometown of Jasper, Alabama while running Mr. Bean BBQ, a restaurant he owns.

Butterbean first made a name for himself when he began drawing huge crowds with the Toughman Contest promotion. He established a record of 56 wins with only 5 losses during his time with the promotion, obtaining 36 knockouts and holding the World Toughman Heavyweight Champion’s belt a record five times. He became known as the “”king of four rounders” and was very well-liked by fans.

Joining the IBA promotion after the Toughman series stopped their promotions, Butterbean began handily defeating opponents and very quickly became the IBA World Super Heavyweight Champion; he held the title until he relinquished when he left the IBF promotion.

After a tough ten round loss to Larry Holmes and a later loss in a title match against George Linberger with the NABC promotion, Butterbean began to focus his training on standup and kick boxing. He began to establish a commanding record, recording 77 wins and 58 knockouts in his first 135 fights.

All articles...

Aleksander Emelianenko

Anderson Silva

Andrei Arlovski - "The Pitbull"

Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira - "Minotauro"

B.J. Penn

Brad Blackburn - Bad

Brandon Vera

Bryan Vetell

Chris Lytle - Lights Out

Chuck Liddell

Dan Christison - The Sandman

Dan Henderson

David Tank Abbott

Denis Kang

Diego Sanchez

Don Frye - The Predator

Ed Herman - Short Fuse

Eric Esch - Butterbean

Ernesto Hoost - Mr. Perfect

Fedor Emelianenko

Forrest Griffin

Frank Shamrock

Gabriel Gonzaga - "Napao"

George St. Pierre - "Rush"

Gilbert Yvel - The Hurricane

Hayato Sakurai

Heath Herring - The Texas Crazy Horse

Hermes Franca

Ian Freeman - The Machine

Igor Vovchanchyn - Ice Cold

Jason MacDonald - The Athlete

Jason Von Flue - Live Wire

Jeff Joslin - The Inferno

Jeremy Horn - Gumby

Joachim Hansen - Hell Boy

Joey Villasenor

Jon Fitch

Josh Barnett - "The Babyface Assassin"

Josh Burkman - "The People's Warrior"

Josh Koscheck

Karo Parisyan

Keith Jardine - The Dean of Mean

Kendall Grove

Kenny Florian - KenFlo

Lyoto Machida

Mac Danzig

Marcus Aurelio - Maximus

Mark Coleman - The Hammer

Mark Hunt

Mark Weir - The Wizard

Marvin Eastman - The Beastman

Matt Hamill - The Hammer

Matt Hughes

Matt Lindland

Matt Serra

Mauricio Rua - "Shogun"

Michael Bisping

Mike Swick - "Quick"

Mirko Filipovic - "Cro Cop"

Nam Phan

Nick Diaz - "Diablo"

Patrick Cote - The Predator

Paul Buentello - The Headhunter

Peter Aerts - The Dutch Lumberjack

Phil Baroni - The New York Bad Ass

Quinton Jackson - "Rampage"

Randy Couture - "The Natural"

Rashad Evans - "Sugar"

Renzo Gracie

Ricardo Arona

Rich Franklin

Richard Clementi - No Love

Roman Zentsov - The Russian Hammer

Sam Hoger - The Alaskan Assassin

Sean Sherk - "The Muscle Shark"

Shinya Aoki

Shonie Carter - Mr. International

Spencer Fisher - The King

Takanori Gomi

Tim Sylvia - "The Maine-iac"

Travis Lutter - The Serial Killer

Urijah Faber - California Kid

Yoshihiro Akiyama

Yves Edwards