Sign In


Keep me logged in

Aleksander Emelianenko

Aleksander Emelianenko was born August 2, 1981 in Russia to a welder and teacher. Aleksander was the third child born into his family; which includes an older sister Marina, as well as an older brother Fedor and a younger brother, Ivan. His older brother Fedor is also a MMA fighter as well. Aleksander began training in martial arts when he was quite young. Fedor, who often had to babysit his younger brother, didn't want to miss Sambo practice and so often took his younger brother with him. After observing the other kids for awhile, Aleksander soon began to mimic their actions and eventually began formal Sambo training after beginning elementary school. Even from that early age; however, he demonstrated skill.

Today Aleksander is a well known MMA fighter, including both national and world championship titles. He holds notable wins against Ricardo Morais as well as Eric Pele.
His first notable win occurred on October 5, 2003 when he fought against Assuerio Silva in PRIDE Bushido 1 and won in a split decision. This was followed up with another win some two months later, when he won with a TJO against Angela Araujo. In PRIDE Bushido 3, he continued to demonstrate his skill when he took out Matt Foki with a submission.

Reaching this level of success was a struggle for Aleksander; however. After being convicted of armed robbery, he was sentenced to five years in prison. It was during his time in prison that he received many of his now famous tattoos; most of which have become a constant source of questions from media.

All articles...

Aleksander Emelianenko

Anderson Silva

Andrei Arlovski - "The Pitbull"

Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira - "Minotauro"

B.J. Penn

Brad Blackburn - Bad

Brandon Vera

Bryan Vetell

Chris Lytle - Lights Out

Chuck Liddell

Dan Christison - The Sandman

Dan Henderson

David Tank Abbott

Denis Kang

Diego Sanchez

Don Frye - The Predator

Ed Herman - Short Fuse

Eric Esch - Butterbean

Ernesto Hoost - Mr. Perfect

Fedor Emelianenko

Forrest Griffin

Frank Shamrock

Gabriel Gonzaga - "Napao"

George St. Pierre - "Rush"

Gilbert Yvel - The Hurricane

Hayato Sakurai

Heath Herring - The Texas Crazy Horse

Hermes Franca

Ian Freeman - The Machine

Igor Vovchanchyn - Ice Cold

Jason MacDonald - The Athlete

Jason Von Flue - Live Wire

Jeff Joslin - The Inferno

Jeremy Horn - Gumby

Joachim Hansen - Hell Boy

Joey Villasenor

Jon Fitch

Josh Barnett - "The Babyface Assassin"

Josh Burkman - "The People's Warrior"

Josh Koscheck

Karo Parisyan

Keith Jardine - The Dean of Mean

Kendall Grove

Kenny Florian - KenFlo

Lyoto Machida

Mac Danzig

Marcus Aurelio - Maximus

Mark Coleman - The Hammer

Mark Hunt

Mark Weir - The Wizard

Marvin Eastman - The Beastman

Matt Hamill - The Hammer

Matt Hughes

Matt Lindland

Matt Serra

Mauricio Rua - "Shogun"

Michael Bisping

Mike Swick - "Quick"

Mirko Filipovic - "Cro Cop"

Nam Phan

Nick Diaz - "Diablo"

Patrick Cote - The Predator

Paul Buentello - The Headhunter

Peter Aerts - The Dutch Lumberjack

Phil Baroni - The New York Bad Ass

Quinton Jackson - "Rampage"

Randy Couture - "The Natural"

Rashad Evans - "Sugar"

Renzo Gracie

Ricardo Arona

Rich Franklin

Richard Clementi - No Love

Roman Zentsov - The Russian Hammer

Sam Hoger - The Alaskan Assassin

Sean Sherk - "The Muscle Shark"

Shinya Aoki

Shonie Carter - Mr. International

Spencer Fisher - The King

Takanori Gomi

The UFC will take all the action to Netherlands

Tim Sylvia - "The Maine-iac"

Travis Lutter - The Serial Killer

Urijah Faber - California Kid

When will we ever see a male vs female MMA fight

Yoshihiro Akiyama

Yves Edwards